Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Newbie Supporting and Training Guild

Back to Guilds

The NSTG's mission is to provide a safe and educational environment for the fostering of newbies to productive Gaians. 

Tags: Guide, Support, Games, Newb, Help 

Reply ☆ Chatterbox
Writing book reviews...

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Rysabi

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 5:50 pm
I'm late to the game and just now joined Goodreads. I like reading so I figured, why not?
Anyway, how do you write good book reviews? I have never done it before.
Gimme tips. sweatdrop

I toyed around with posting in the book forum but I like sticking to my guilds lol.

In case anyone is wondering I read a lot of children's picture books, YA, historical fiction, trashy romance, and occult stuff.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2023 6:32 pm
Aww, no one replied? I was curious when I saw the thread  

Rizrael

Eternal Hellraiser

16,725 Points
  • Winged 100
  • Wing Mastery 100
  • Hellraiser 500

sylphh-ie

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 3:49 pm
I don't write book reviews unfortunately but I read Goodreads reviews often when hunting down potential new books so I may be able to give some input smile
My ideal review would include:

1) A short beginning paragraph/few sentences to describe the overall impression of the book. Maybe include a reason why you picked the book in the first place and whether it met your expectations (have you read from this author before?). Some people also include a favourite quote before they start writing their review. Or if you prefer, you could dedicate a section of favourite quotes later on!

2) Stuff from the book which was impressive/disappointing. This can cover writing style (e.g. describing scenes, dialogue), plot (e.g. pacing), characters (e.g. the ones which gave you the biggest impression, interesting relationship dynamics), major themes, worldbuilding, etc.