Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Newbie Supporting and Training Guild

Back to Guilds

The NSTG's mission is to provide a safe and educational environment for the fostering of newbies to productive Gaians. 

Tags: Guide, Support, Games, Newb, Help 

Reply ☆ Word Games
I've been hired to my first job in retail!

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Ebania
Crew

Sarcastic Prophet

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:38 pm
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.Hello everyone! I come bearing great news. After a two-year hunt for a summer job, I finally found one at a local clothing store. As far as retail goes, it was definitely my top choice; I feel I can honestly and lovingly represent this brand, which makes me super happy.

I've never worked in retail before, but I'm very sociable, definitely a go-getter, and my experience as my own personal stylist and makeup artist has definitely prepared me for this position.

That being said, do you have any advice for me? Tips, pointers, things to avoid doing on the first day (or ever), things I should do and ask, etc?

Thanks! emotion_bigheart

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:44 pm
Ebony the Peacian

Congratulations, Fran! I know you'll do well at this job.  

Ned-san

Friendly Phantom

7,550 Points
  • Olympian 200
  • Champion 300
  • Invisibility 100

umbraja

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:44 pm
Congrats! Good to see someone getting work in this economy.

Best advice I can give anyone for a first job in retail is: pace yourself so you don't get overwhelmed and wear comfortable shoes. The shoes especially. You'll probably be on your feet the whole time so don't go for something cute, wear the most comfortable shoes you own.  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:56 pm
Ned-San
umbraja