Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Physics and Mathematics Guild

Back to Guilds

Tags: physics, mathematics, science, universe 

Reply The Physics and Mathematics Guild
some vector analysis questions (a bit long)

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

freeziepleasy

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:58 pm
Hello. I am studying vector analysis by myself in hopes to try my best as I can and to go as far as I can in mathematics so I can sit in a quantum mechanics class and understand what they are talking about. So, in short, this is not school work, since I'm studying by myself and not taking a class. The book I am using - "Vector Analysis" by L. Marder - is a very small, concise book, and he takes a lot of shortcuts in the mathematics he uses. I'm not a mathematics or physics major, so any questions I have about what he did will probably not be answered in his book, since it seems this book is very concentrated material.

1) Show that the unit vectors R hat, psi hat, z hat have cartesian components given by
R hat=(cosΨ,sinΨ,0)
Ψ hat=(-sinΨ,cosΨ,0)
z hat=(0,0,1)
and also that the curved surface of the cylinder in the Figure has the line element ds, where
ds^2=a^2dΨ^2 + dz^2,
and a is the radius.
If anyone needs the picture:
User Image

I got the cartesian components. I have a question about the line element.
For R, I have magnitude 1
for Ψ, magnitude is R
for z, magnitude is 1

When solving for line element, I ended up with
ds^2=(∂ r/∂ R)^2(dR)^2 + (∂ r/∂ Ψ)^2(dΨ)^2 + (∂r/∂z)^2(dz)^2 + ... (the other stuff that tends to zero because R, Ψ, and z are orthogonal to each other)
ds^2=1(dR)^2 + R^2(dΨ)^2 + (dz)^2

answer does not have dR^2 included. Why?

2) If you have cross product:
r/∂θ x ∂r/∂Ψ = a^2(sin^2θ cosΨi + sin^2θ sinΨj + sinθcosθk)

and so

|∂r/∂θ x ∂r/∂Ψ| = a^2(sin^4θ + sin^2θ cos^2θ)^(1/2) = a^2 sinθ

I got the answer for ∂r/∂θ x ∂r/∂Ψ, but not for the absolute value of it.
If I took the scalar of the vector: