Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Dungeons & Dragons Guild

Back to Guilds

A Dungeons & Dragons Roleplaying Guild - We have many active games, join requests are checked often, and everyone is accepted. 

Tags: Dungeons, Dragons, Roleplaying, Dungeons and Dragons 

Reply The Dungeons & Dragons Guild
I'm the new guy, advice please

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Cat Named V

Tipsy Conversationalist

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:25 am
So, I'm new to this guild (But i've been on gaia for years...) and I was looking for some... guidance. Because as much as I play D&D, I've never played through forums. And frankly, it doesn't look very fun... But I would like to be able to get into it. So. help me out however you see possible if possible. Thanksss.

Oh, and I'm definitively the role-playing type of player. I get into it. I even do voices at my session in the real world.

PS I'm most comfortable with D&D 4e

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:30 am
Read the stickies.

Edit: And the announcements then ask questions we don't know what you want to know.  

Mongooseh

Distinct Raider

8,825 Points
  • Demonic Associate 100
  • Guildmember 100
  • Hellraiser 500

Cat Named V

Tipsy Conversationalist

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:17 pm
Okaaay, first off, I viewed all of the announcements and the stickies. And none of them actually explain how you play a D&D game with a forum. I'll go one question at a time, I suppose, to make things simpler: what the hell do you use as a game board?  
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:26 pm
The dm will ether make a map, steal one, or throw the map out the window and do his best to describe the scene...

Maps can look like

This: http://www.dndadventure.com/images/pt_dwarven_mine.jpg

they can look as simple as this text art... or they can be like

you enter a dimly lit small room, the smell of death emulates from the damp walls...  

Southern Cross Nemesis
Vice Captain