Is this the right thing to do?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Sioga

Eloquent Genius

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:44 pm
Ok, so I am a freshman, and I am just ending Algebra 1, thanks to my last school, but most of my class is ending Geometry now. I am good at math, and have decided to take a credit Geometry course over the summer, so that I can be in Algebra 2 with the rest of my class next year. Do you think that was a smart thing to do? If I do it, then I will be able to get to Calculus by my senior year.  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:13 am
I'd say go for it, but I don't know enough about how summer courses are taught where you are to really give a good judgment. How much does pace matter to you? Can you learn quickly, since a summer course will be more compressed than a regular course?

Actually, I wouldn't be too concerned about it. If it's anything like typical high-school geometry courses, nothing you learn in that course will be useful later on. If you continue to be interested in mathematics or physics, everything you learn in that course will be completely overwritten by later classes, and until then nothing in the course itself will be relevant at all. I'm a geometer by trade, and I never even bothered taking high-school geometry; learned my geometry via doing puzzles and skimming Euclid, mostly the former.

Take the course, get it out of the way, get the credits, look at all the pretty pictures, learn the bizarre terminology that's never used outside of high-school, but don't worry about how much actually sinks in.  

Layra-chan
Crew

Sioga

Eloquent Genius

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:27 am
Well I go to one of the top schools where I live, and the school I am taking the summer course is also a really good school academically. Both are some of the few real good high schools where I live.